2013 QFest Awards & Juries

Jurors will confer the awards on Sunday, July 21, 7:15 pm, at the Ritz East in Old City,
prior to the Philadelphia Premiere of Hot Guys with Guns

Prizes will be awarded in the following categories:


Best Short Film

Best Documentary Film

Best Comedic Feature

Best Feature Film


Best Short Film

Best Documentary

Best Feature Film

First Time Director

Head of Jurors
Brian Gannon, an award winning short film producer and 20-year veteran of Philadelphia’s video production community. He is an editor for Center City Film and Video, working on a variety of projects including short films and TV programming. He has served as the Head of Jurors for QFest for several years.
Feature Film Jury
Vince Austin-Cole, a long time volunteer and juror at QFest, brings his passion for film viewing as a serious avocation. He averages seeing at least 30 LGBT feature and documentary films each year. He enjoys evaluating all aspects of the filmmaking process, from screenplay to production.
Steve Randisi is a life-long film historian and free-lance writer of celebrity interviews for these publications: Films of the Golden Age, Classic Images, Scarlett Street among others. He has also made contributions to numerous books pertaining to classic film and television history.
Judith Redding's award-winning short films, screened at national and international film festivals, have been broadcast on American Public Television. She is the coauthor of Film Fatales: Independent Women Directors, which profiles 33 of independent film’s finest.
Documentary Film Jury
Gary Hines, former host of "The Catacombs," an online radio show and film reviewer for the Men of All Colors Together organization, serves as the Co-Chair of the Liberty City (LGBT) Democratic Club and works with The Brothers Network and The Black Gay Men’s Leadership Council.

Joe'l Ludovich is an award-winning independent film/television producer and Associate Professor in Communication at The Richard Stockton College of New Jersey. She has received numerous awards, including three Mid-Atlantic Emmy nominations, several Telly and Communicator awards and a Pennsylvania Association for Broadcasters Award.

Kelly McQuain is a professor at Community College of Philadelphia, where he teaches courses in creative writing and film studies. A twotime recipient of fellowships from the Pennsylvania Council on the Arts, he has contributed fiction and poetry to "Men on Men," "Bloom," "Assaracus" and "The Harrington Gay Men's Fiction Quarterly."

Short Film Jury
Jhett Bond, a Philadelphia native and part-time videographer, has volunteered for the festival many times over the years, including as a juror.

Michael Busza, an undergraduate filmmaker at Temple, created the university's first full-length web series "One of the Guys," a sitcom about three gay men and their straight roommate. He is the recipient of the Broadcast Pioneers of Philadelphia Scholarship, the Jonathan R. Lax Gay Men of Philadelphia Scholarship, and the inaugural Temple University Marc David LGBT Scholarship.

Byron Lee, a doctoral candidate in Media & Communication at Temple University, is researching and teaching LGBTQ identity and images in media. His most recent project, soon to be published in a professional journal, will focus on masculinity in bareback pornography.

QFest 2012 Award Winers

Audience Awards

Best Short Film
Best Short Film: Tsuyako directed by Mitsyo Miyazaki

Best Documentary Film:
TRANS directed by Chris Arnold

Best Comedic Feature:
Let My People Go! directed by Mikael Buch

Best Feature Film:
Cloudburst directed by Thom Fitzgerald

Juried Awards

Best Short Film: (tied)
Prora directed by Stephane Riethauser

First Time Director:
Negar Azarbayjani director of Facing Mirrors

Best Documentary Film:
Love Free or Die directed by Macky Alston

Best Feature Film:
Keep the Lights On directed by Ira Sachs